New Perspectives in Oxford: Two writers join the blog!

If you follow our Facebook and Twitter page, you’ll have noticed the updates about this blog getting new writers! Oxford Inspires, the cultural organisation behind the bid, has hired two new interns to work on the blog and make it way better than what I was doing alone.

We met last week to discuss practicalities and these girls have a stockroom of amazing ideas in their heads from interviews, to showcasing events and branching out to new organisations and blogs. Be on the lookout for more media, videos and personal and professional stories from around Oxfordshire.

As always, if you have an idea for the blog or for the bid, please email us at worldbookcapital@gmail.com.

Sarah

From the very moment I knew that I was going to Oxford to do an MA in Publishing I was absolutely excited. What a great thing to live in a place like this where every building, every street, every corner is full of history – with the Tolkien manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, the many reminiscences of writers such as C.S. Lewis or the very active current literary and publishing scene situated in and around Oxford. Even better that I get the chance to turn my passion for Oxford’s literary heritage and life into a serious occupation by contribution to this blog and spreading the word about Oxford’s bid to become UNESCO World Book Capital in 2014.

Vicky

I am currently in my second year of Publishing at Oxford Brookes University. Along with travel, books are my biggest passion; I regret not having the time to read a lot more but am determined, when I can, to continue discovering and enjoying some great fiction – especially now I can share my finds on here! As Publishing is such a competitive industry, I have been trying to gain as much work experience as possible whilst studying in Oxford and last year worked at local literacy agency Felicity Bryan as well as volunteering with the Oxford Literary Festival, both of which I found extremely enjoyable and valuable insights into the publishing world. I am now looking forward to contributing towards such a great cause as the Oxford World Book Capital bid and learning more about a city which boasts such a deep and intriguing literary background.

Comments
3 Responses to “New Perspectives in Oxford: Two writers join the blog!”
  1. Mila says:

    Great idea, looking forward to reading more about this! I´ve already been following Sarah´s blog, good move to hire her 🙂

  2. readingdelights says:

    Hi Mila,

    thanks for saying this – that’s too nice of you ;-).

    Sarah

  3. Thomas Davis says:

    Here’s to your achieving a future that is even brighter than your dreams.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

